Further Adventures of a Reluctant Blogger

I started blogging last year as an experiment in social media.

First, I wanted to test drive a blog to learn how it worked.

Second, many of my posts were about my adventures in social media.  I shared my thoughts as I went along, hoping to encourage others in my small circle of acquaintences to give it a try.  Naturally, as I became more interested in different types of social media, my blog updates became fewer and far between.  Those of you who are observant will likely see a correspondence between the lack of posts and  my introduction to Facebook and Twitter, but I am not here to point fingers.

So why have I started again?

I first joined Twitter after watching a video by John Haydon.  He was kind enough to introduce me to others interested in social media and social change, and not long after that I met Danny Brown, the founder of 12for12k.  What is 12for12k, you ask?

The 12for12k Challenge is the combination of social media and fund-raising that aims to change the lives of millions worldwide.

Its aim is to raise a minimum of $144,000 for 12 charities over the course of 2009, with a new charity being supported every month. All proceeds raised go directly to the chosen charities.

The concept is simple:

  • 12 months of the year
  • 12 charities, a different charity each month
  • $12,000 per charity

After sitting back and observing this initiative for a short time, I decided that I wanted to be a part of it.  I requested a 12for12k avatar for Twitter, put the badge on my Twitter background, and happily tweeted about the amazing charities spotlighted each month in the hopes of making a difference.

But now I want to do more.  I’ve started up this blog for a couple of reasons.  First, to help to promote 12for12k.  Second, because many people on Twitter have asked me why I don’t have a link to a website or blog or ANYTHING to help them learn a little more about me and my interests.  So here it is.

I’m not sure what this blog will be about, if anything in particular.  You’ll most likely catch me musing over random things.  Regardless, I appreciate you stopping by and look forward to connecting here or on Twitter.  Cheers!

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Further Adventures of a Reluctant Blogger

  1. Mickey

    Thanks, Henie!

    I appreciate your comment, support and all that you do to promote change and kindness through your blog and Twitter-stream. 🙂

  2. Ahhh, and some more to add here…

    Mickey, Jon, Richard and of course Danny…you all are the biggest givers and the kindest people I have come to be a part of! The more I know you, the more fortunate I feel for the opportunity to be a part of your community!

    Thank you, Mickey for coming back and writing this to start off your blog!

  3. Mickey

    Thanks, Danny! It’s good to be back, and 12for12k was a great motivator to get my act in gear.

    At the risk of continuing the love-fest, thanks for all that you do!

    Now let’s see if I can find anything useful to say. . . 🙂

  4. Okay, I’m going to join this love-fest and thank you both sincerely for all you do. It’s been humbling to see the support for 12for12k as it’s gone from a pipe dream into something that can be built on for years to come.

    I couldn’t do it without the support of guys like you, so thank you.

    And Mickey? Welcome back to the blogosphere 🙂

  5. Mickey

    Thanks, Richard, for your kind words! I am seriously humbled to be included with such amazing people. Don’t ever forget that you are right up there making a difference and inspiring people, too!

    Cheers,
    Mickey

  6. Mickey-

    You are such a joy and inspiration!

    Now, more than ever, our world needs more people like you, John Haydon, Danny Brown and Jon Aston and all those who donate their time and talent for 12for12k and other charity organizations around the globe.

    Thank you my friend.

Leave a Reply

