Facebook – Whoa

Well, I caved. I finally made a Facebook account. I’m trying to keep it social, since I figure anyone who wants to connect with me professionally can find me on LinkedIn. I briefly considered making two separate accounts (a good friend of mine just did this, in fact) – one for social, one for professional. HOWEVER, the time-sucking vortex that is Facebook is already becoming mildly addictive, and frankly I need one more account to monitor like I need to poke myself in the eye with something sharp.

Facebook is fascinating – I’ve reconnected with some great people from my past. It’s also a bit. . . well. . . odd at times, especially getting friend requests from people I barely recall meeting once. Now, I know that there are some people who have a goal of making some incredibly large facebook friends list. I am not that person. I’d prefer to know (fairly well) the people in my list, and to be ok with them knowing random things that I feel like posting. I guess we’ll see how this grand experiment works, eh?

Launched the second blog for my organization – this one for Volunteer Managers. This should keep me busy for a while (like I need something else to keep me busy. . . I have Facebook now, people!). I tried to add both blogs to Technorati.

I made an account. I verified the e-mail address. I tried to “Claim My Blog” by entering the blog address and, no kidding, it took me to a page that said “DOH!” and then something about the Technorati monster. Seriously. Undaunted, I tried several more times and finally couldn’t even get Technorati to LOAD much less process anything. I ended up putting it aside for now (current status: mildly daunted).

It does make me wonder. . . did someone else claim my blogs already? I mean, I’m not gonna pretend to be the Blogmaster of the Universe or anything (cool title, though), but now I’m just a little worried. Or maybe the blogs are SO BAD that Technorati instantly repelled them? Time will tell. I’ll keep you posted.

Good news, though. This month the hits on our website are through the roof. I started noticing them going up when I started with the Facebook page. We were averaging anywhere from 25,000 hits to 35,000 hits a month through August 2008. Then – BOOM! – 40,000 hits in September. So far this month (mind you, it’s not the end of the month yet) we have 48,500 hits to the website. Whoa.

What is really interesting, though, is that a lot of these hits are repeat visitors. We have increased our unique visitor count by around 200 per month and the visit numbers are pretty steady. If I’m reading this correctly (and no one would be more surprised than me if this is, in fact, the case), it means that more unique ip addresses are visiting our website, and those that visit are coming back for more. I take that as a good sign, really, but that doesn’t mean that you should stop visiting the website (hahaha).

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

